Award winner Police Chief Brett C. Railey of the Winter Park Police Department in Florida.

Award winner Police Chief Brett C. Railey of the Winter Park Police Department in Florida.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration presented 12 individuals and organizations with the agency’s Public Service Award at the 32nd annual Lifesavers Conference.

NHTSA’s top public service award recognizes efforts to advance highway safety throughout the country.

“Today’s award recipients represent the full spectrum of dedicated public servants who help us improve safety each and every day across the country,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. “We thank them for their service, for the difference they have made and the example they are setting for others.”

The Lifesavers Conference, held last week in Nashville, annually highlights emerging traffic safety issues and explores life-saving programs and best practices.

Here are the 12 public service award winners:

Isaac T. Avery III, North Carolina Conference of District Attorneys -- In recognition of leadership and dedication to highway safety in North Carolina.

Michael R. Calvin, senior strategic advisor, American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators -- In recognition of outstanding leadership, nationally and internationally, in developing uniform and consistent policies and procedures for training and licensing drivers of motor vehicles.

Kerry Chausmer, certification director, Safe Kids Worldwide -- In recognition of dedication and creative management of the National CPS Certification program and ongoing commitment to improving child passenger safety.

C. Stephen Hooper, operations director, Division of Motor Vehicles, Colorado Department of Revenue -- In recognition of exemplary leadership to upgrade laws and implement programs to reduce impaired driving recidivism throughout Colorado.

Angela Osterhuber, director, Pennsylvania Traffic Injury Prevention Project -- In recognition of innovative leadership and commitment to reducing crash injuries and fatalities for child passengers across the region.

Senator Mike Padden, Washington State Senate, 4th District -- In recognition of tireless and unending work to end tragedies related to alcohol abuse and DUI.

Brian and Yvette Pearse, K&J Foundation -- In recognition of taking a personal tragedy and turning it into an opportunity to educate teens about the importance of always wearing seat belts in an effort to reduce teen motor vehicle injuries and deaths.

Chief Brett Railey, Winter Park Police Department -- In recognition and appreciation for extraordinary contributions and dedication to increasing traffic enforcement.

John Smith, transportation director, Northern Arapaho and Eastern Shoshone Tribes -- In recognition of leadership in the area of tribal transportation safety, through policy initiatives, promoting awareness, and coordination with state and federal partners.

Southern Arizona DUI Task Force -- In recognition of the combined efforts of the Southern Arizona DUI Task Force member agencies to reduce DUI fatalities by more than 20 percent from 2008 to 2012.

The Limtiaco Co. -- In recognition of pedestrian safety efforts that resulted in reductions in pedestrian injuries and fatalities among senior citizens and children in Hawaii.

Robert W. Welsh, program manager, Missouri Safety Center -- In recognition of outstanding dedication to the field of drug and alcohol impaired driving.

Award winners were nominated by NHTSA staff members and selected by senior NHTSA leadership.