WASHINGTON – The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) announced the 54 2013-MY vehicles it plans to test as part of its 5-star safety ratings program. Each year, NHTSA tests vehicles with high sales volumes. The agency stated it plans to rate 33 passenger cars, 16 sport utility vehicles, one van, and four pickups.

In 2011, NHTSA updated its testing standards by adding an overall rating, a new pole test for side crashes, and more advanced crash test dummies, including “small-statured” female crash test dummies. The crash tests will cover approximately 85% of 2013-MY vehicles sold in the U.S, and rollover tests will cover 92% of the 2013-MY fleet.

The organization noted that many 2013-MY vehicles are carryover models and safety rating information for them is currently available at www.safercar.gov. The agency will post the 2013-MY test results on that site as well.

Model Year 2013 Vehicles Selected for the 5-Star Safety Rating Tests


Make Model Body Style
Acura ILX 4DR
Audi A4 4DR
Buick Verano 4DR
Cadillac ATS 4DR
Cadillac XTS 4DR
Chevrolet Malibu 4DR
Dodge Challenger 2DR
Dodge Dart 4DR
Fiat 500 3HB
Ford CMAX Energi 5HB
Ford Focus 4DR
Ford Focus BEV 5HB
Ford Fusion 4DR
Ford Fusion Energi 4DR
Ford Taurus 4DR
Honda Accord 2DR
Honda Accord 4DR
Honda Civic 2DR
Honda Civic 4DR
Infiniti M37 4DR
Lexus ES350 4DR
Lexus IS250 4DR
Mercedes-Benz C-Class 4DR
Nissan Altima 4DR
Nissan Leaf 5HB
Nissan Sentra 4DR
Subaru Impreza SW
Subaru Legacy 4DR
Toyota Avalon 4DR
Toyota Prius C 5HB
Toyota Prius v SW
Volkswagen Beetle 2DR



Make Model Body Style
Chevrolet Silverado 2500 PU/EC
Ram 1500 PU/CC
Ram 1500 Quad Cab PU/EC
Toyota Tacoma PU/EC



Make Model Body Style
Chevrolet Traverse SUV
Ford Escape SUV
Ford Explorer SUV
Hyundai Santa Fe Sport SUV
Jeep Compass SUV
Jeep Patriot SUV
Lexus RX350 SUV
Mazda CX-5 SUV
Mazda CX-9 SUV
Mercedes-Benz ML-Class SUV
Nissan Pathfinder SUV
Subaru Outback SUV
Toyota RAV4 SUV
Toyota Sienna VAN
Toyota Venza SUV
Volkswagen Tiguan SUV


 The list of model year 2013 vehicles selected for LDW, FCW and/or ESC confirmation testing is as follows.


Make Model Body LDW FCW ESC
Audi A4 4DR   ü  
Audi A6 4DR   ü  
BMW 3-Series Sedan 4DR ü ü  
Cadillac XTS (Magna system) 4DR ü ü  
Chevrolet Volt 4DR ü ü  
Chevrolet Malibu 4DR ü ü  
Chrysler 300 4DR   ü  
Dodge Dart 4DR     ü
Ford Fusion 4DR ü ü ü
Ford Taurus 4DR   ü  
Honda Accord Sedan 4DR ü ü  
Honda Fit 5HB     ü
Hyundai Genesis (BH) 4DR ü   ü
Nissan Sentra 4DR     ü
Subaru Outback SW ü ü  
Subaru XV Crosstrek SW     ü
Suzuki SX4 4DR     ü
Toyota Avalon 4DR   ü ü
Toyota Prius 4DR ü ü  


Make Model Body LDW FCW ESC
Acura RDX SUV     ü
Buick Encore SUV ü ü  
Ford Escape SUV     ü
Ford Explorer SUV ü ü  
Infiniti JX SUV ü ü  
Mazda CX-5 SUV     ü
Nissan Xterra SUV     ü
Toyota RAV4 SUV ü   ü
Volkswagen Routan VAN     ü


KEY: PU – Pickup, EC – Extended Cab, CC – Crew Cab, DR – Door, HB – Hatchback, SUV – Sport Utility Vehicle, SW – Station Wagon