WASHINGTON – The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) announced the MY-2012 passenger vehicles it will test as part of its 5-star safety ratings program. NHTSA said its program will provide safety information on approximately 81 percent of model year 2012 passenger vehicles sold in the U.S., while rollover tests will provide information on 92 percent of the 2012 fleet.

NHTSA stated it will rate 74 vehicles for the 2012 model-year, including 42 passenger cars, 22 sport utility vehicles, two vans, and eight pickup trucks. The organization said it will conduct testing under its enhanced program, which NHTSA overhauled last year to include tougher crash tests and provide a single overall safety score for each vehicle.

In addition to overall safety ratings, NHTSA’s revamped testing program provides on the most effective “crash avoidance” technologies available in new model year vehicles.

NHTSA said it also started providing recommendations on effective crash-avoidance technologies. For the 2012 model year, NHTSA has identified 68 models with either lane departure warning (LDW), forward collision warning (FCW), or both. Of these equipped vehicles, 12 have LDW, 18 vehicles have FCW, and 38 vehicles have both. Since NHTSA began identifying vehicles equipped with these crash avoidance technologies in 2011, availability of these features has risen, up from the 45 vehicles offering these technologies as optional equipment last model year.

The list of vehicles to be tested is shown below: 

Passenger Cars 

MakeModelBody Style
Acura TL 4 DR
BMW 328i 4 DR
Buick Regal eAssist 4 DR
Cadillac CTS 4 DR
Chevrolet Camaro 2 DR
Chevrolet Impala 4 DR
Chevrolet Sonic 4 DR
Chrysler 200 4 DR
Chrysler 300 4 DR
Coda Coda 4 DR
Dodge Avenger 4 DR
Dodge Charger 4 DR
Fiat 500 3 HB
Ford Focus 4 DR
Ford Ford Focus BEV 4 DR
Ford Mustang 2 DR
Ford Transit Connect 4 DR
Honda Civic 2 DR
Honda Civic IMA 4 DR
Honda CR-Z 3 HB
Honda Fit 5 HB
Hyundai Accent 4 DR
Hyundai Elantra 4 DR
Kia Rio 4 DR
Lexus ES350 4 DR
Mazda Mazda3 4 DR
Mazda Mazda6 4 DR
Mitsubishi iMiEV 5 HB
Mitsubishi Lancer 4 DR
Nissan Maxima 4 DR
Nissan Versa 4 DR
Subaru Impreza 4 DR
Subaru Legacy 4 DR
Suzuki SX4 4 DR
Toyota Camry 4 DR
Toyota Corolla 4 DR
Toyota Prius v SW
Toyota Scion iQ 3 HB
Toyota Yaris Liftback 5 HB
Volkswagen Beetle 2 DR


MakeModelBody Style
Chevrolet Silverado 2500 PU/CC
Ford F-150 Supercab PU/EC
Ford F-250 Super Crew PU/CC
Ram 1500 Crew Cab PU/CC
Ram 2500 Crew Cab PU/CC
Ram 1500 Quad Cab PU/EC
Toyota Tacoma PU/CC
Toyota Tundra PU/CC


MakeModelBody Style
Cadillac SRX SUV
Chevrolet Suburban 1500 SUV
Dodge Durango SUV
Dodge Journey SUV
Ford Expedition SUV
Ford Explorer SUV
Honda CR-V SUV
Honda Pilot SUV
Hyundai Santa Fe SUV
Hyundai Tucson SUV
Jeep Grand Cherokee SUV
Jeep Liberty SUV
Kia Sorento SUV
Kia Soul SUV
Kia Sportage SUV
Mitsubishi Outlander SUV
Mitsubishi Outlander Sport SUV
Nissan Juke SUV
Subaru Outback SUV
Toyota 4Runner SUV
Toyota RAV4 SUV


MakeModelBody Style
Chrysler Town & Country VAN
Toyota Sienna VAN

Passenger Cars With Lane Departure Warning (LDW) or Forward Collision Warning (FCW)

MakeModelBody Style
BMW 328i 4 DR
Dodge Charger 4 DR
Mercedes-Benz E-Class 4 DR
Volvo S60 4 DR

 SUVs With LDW or FCW

MakeModelBody Style
Chevrolet Equinox SUV
Dodge Durango SUV
Ford Edge SUV
Ford Explorer SUV
Infiniti QX56 SUV
Mercedes-Benz ML-Class SUV