TORRANCE, CA – Fifteen candidates made the cut for Automotive Fleet's 2008 Professional Fleet Manager of the Year award — how many will qualify this time around?

The AF Fleet Manager of the Year Award was created to recognize an experienced and proficient fleet manager who has demonstrated special business acumen in developing and executing key management policies in all areas.

Qualified nominees must be full-time commercial fleet managers, control a company-owned or leased fleet in excess of 100 cars and light trucks combined, and be recognized nationally among their peers for their unique abilities and accomplishments. Candidates will be narrowed down to three and the award announced at the 2009 NAFA Institute & Expo in New Orleans in April. 

Finalists will be featured in the March and April 2009 issues of Automotive Fleet and a profile of the winner will be included in the June issue of the magazine. Click here to read about Merck & Co.'s Joe LaRosa, 2008 Professional Fleet Manager of the Year.

Past winners include:

2008 Joe LaRosa, Merck & Co.

2007 Lynda Dinwiddie, LabCorp

2006 Scott Mayo, Wendy's International, Inc.

2005 Jim McCarthy, Siemens

2004 Henry Paetzel, General Mills

2003 Josie Sharp, Aventis

2002 Jim Anselmi, Lorillard

2001 Patsy Brownson, Cox Enterprises

2000 Shirley Collins, Glaxo-Wellcome

Know someone who should receive this prestigious recognition? Nominate them now!

Only two nominations are allowed per company. All nominations must be received no later than Friday, Jan. 16.