ARLINGTON, VA --- The Safety & Loss Prevention Management Council for the American Trucking Associations announced its 2008 award winners at its Safety and Human Resources National Conference and Exhibition in Nashville, TN. The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the Truck & Industrial Safety Contests.

These contests judge motor carrier from across the United States on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size.

The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industry-wide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

2008 ATA President’s Trophy

Large fleet winner (over 100 million miles annually) -- Roehl Transport Inc.,

Marshfield, Wis.

Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually) -- Central Freight Lines Inc., Waco, Texas

Small fleet winner (under 25 million miles annually) -- CLI Transport LP,  Claysburg, Pa.

ATA National Driver of the Year -- David J. May, Con-way Freight, West Seneca, N.Y.

National Safety Director of the Year -- Douglas R. Cook, Covenant Transport Inc., Chattanooga, Tenn.

Human Resources Professional of the Year -- Leslie P. Lundberg, Con-way Inc., Ann Arbor, Mich.

Excellence in Safety Award -- North Carolina Trucking Association

Excellence in Human Resource Management -- Roehl Transport Inc.,

Marshfield, Wis.

ATA S&LPMC Leadership Award --Douglas R. Cook, Covenant Transport, Inc., Chattanooga, Tenn.

ATA's Safety & Loss Prevention Management Council is an organization of transportation professionals involved in safety, human resources, loss prevention and claims management for motor carriers and interested organizations.