New Jersey motorists have only a few days to get ready to comply with a new state law requiring drivers to use hands-free devices when talking on wireless phones. Starting July 1, motorists could face a fine ranging between $100 and $250 for using hands-on wireless phones. A similar law also takes effect July 1 in Washington, D.C. and already is in effect throughout New York State.