Florida enacted a law that allows law enforcement in the state to penalize drivers who are caught texting and driving, though it won’t ban drivers from phone usage altogether, according to the Miami Herald.
However, fleet drivers who rely on Bluetooth-enabled GPS or make hands-free phone calls during their works hours will still be able to utilize these functions. This new law went into effect at the start of 2020, though drivers can still text while they are stopped at a red light.
First-time offenders will face a $30 fine, plus court fees. Second-time offenders will receive a $60 fine in addition to three driver’s license points, according to Florida International University.
In October 2019, Florida banned drivers from using electronic devices, unless they do so in a hands-free manner, in designated school crossings, school zones, or active work zones.