Arizona's state Senate has approved a statewide distracted driving bill by a two-to-one margin, which moves it a step closer to becoming law, reports Tucson.com.
If Bill SB 1165 receives approval in the state's House, it would be Arizona's first statewide ban on texting while driving.
Nearly 30 municipalities in Arizona have already passed some type of regulation or ban on texting while driving, reports KVOA.com
State cell phone and texting laws now apply only to school bus drivers and those who have a learner's permit or are younger than 18 and have had a license for less than six months.
If the new legislation becomes law, all motorists will be prohibited from texting while driving and handling their cell phone for any reason, according to the reports. The use of a hands-free device to talk on calls while driving would be allowed.
In addition, drivers would be forbidden from watching videos or movies on a cell phone or tablet. However, they would be allowed to use a navigation system.
If the bill passes, the law would go into effect in 2021. The penalty for a first offense would be a fine of up to $149. Subsequent violations could mean a fine as high as $250, reports Tucson.com.
Gov. Doug Ducey has said he will sign the ban on texting-while-driving if the bill clears the House, according to reports.
See all comments