LAS VEGAS - Twenty-six individuals were nominated by the industry, but only eight were inducted this year in a ceremony at the Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association (AFLA) conference, Sept. 8-10 at the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa at Summerlin.

Sponsored by AFLA and presented by Automotive Fleet magazine, Hall of Fame members are recognized industry leaders and pioneers who have contributed significantly to the commercial fleet management profession. Eligible nominees must have at least 10 years of fleet management experience.

Inductees are nominated and voted on by peers in an online ballot spanning three months.

The 2010 Fleet Hall of Fame Inductees are:

  • Mike Antich
    Automotive Fleet
    Editor & Associate Publisher
    Dates in Fleet: 1985-present
  • George Argueta
    Fleet Manager, Celanese Corp.
    Dates in Fleet: 1965-present
  • Helene Kamon
    AmeriFleet Transportation
    Dates in Fleet: 1970-present
  • Don Kreft
    LeasePlan USA
    President/CEO (Retired)
    Co-Owner Transport Solutions
    Dates in Fleet: 1965-present
  • Wayne Smolda
    Dates in Fleet: 1980-present
  • Hal Barton
    Chrysler Corp.
    Lincoln-Mercury Division
    General Mgr. of Fleet Operations
    Dates in Fleet: 1950-1995
  • Sam Penn
    Executive Vice President (Retired)
    Dates in Fleet: 1969-1990
  • Jack Taylor
    Enterprise Holdings
    Founder of Enterprise Rent-A-Car
    Dates in Fleet: 50+ Years

To view the PowerPoint presentation displayed at the AFLA conference, click here.

The Fleet Hall of Fame program was established in 2008 with 20 founding Hall of Fame members. That same year, an additional 10 honorees were selected by the industry through online voting.

Last year, nine new members were inducted into the Fleet Hall of Fame in a special ceremony at the Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association's (AFLA) annual meeting.

Marking the third year of this recognition program, eight inductees will be selected for 2010. Read bios of the 26 nominees for the 2010 Fleet Hall of Fame.

Additional inductees will be installed in the Fleet Hall of Fame with one less honoree each year, until three are installed in 2015. Thereafter, three honorees will be inducted in the Fleet Hall of Fame annually.

Click below to view:

2008 Inductees

2009 Inductees

2010 Nominees