Automotive Fleet and the Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association (AFLA) are proud to announce seven new inductees into the Fleet Hall of Fame.
Instituted to recognize fleet industry leaders and pioneers who have contributed significantly to the commercial fleet management profession, Hall of Fame inductees must have fleet careers spanning 10 years or more and are selected by peers in an online ballot.

Established in 2008 with 20 founding members, the number of annual inductees will decrease by one each year, until three are installed in 2015. Thereafter, three honorees will be inducted in the Fleet Hall of Fame at AFLA's annual conference. 

Ken Baittinger, ARI

Dates in fleet: 1960-2007 (retired)
Baittinger's diverse experience at ARI spanned 47 years and ranged from frontline customer service and operations to sales, before his promotion to executive management. In 1990, he played a vital role when he served as general manager for one year for an acquired company, Lend Lease Corporation, as it was integrated into ARI. He retired from ARI in 2004 as senior VP of operations. He developed ARI's quality assurance program, Partners In Excellence, as a tool to ensure everyone at ARI continues to put clients first in all things. Baittinger also brought the first nationwide license renewal service to the industry.

Shirley Collins, CAFM, GlaxoSmithKline

Dates in Fleet: 1986-present
Before earning the title of AF's Professional Fleet Manager of the Year in 2000, Collins was a nominee for the award consecutively from 1997-1999. She has also served as a panel judge in the years following her recognition. Collins is a member of the Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association (AFLA), serving as a 2010 board member, in addition to being an active member of NAFA. She received her CAFM designation in 1996. During her time with GlaxoSmithKline, she has achieved year-over-year savings through process improvements and automation, policy revisions, and selector streamlining. She has also successfully integrated fleets in major mergers and many smaller acquisitions and created a comprehensive driver safety program.

George Kilroy, PHH

Dates in Fleet: 1976-present
Kilroy began his career at PHH Arval in 1976 and held various roles in sales, client relations, marketing, equipment leasing, and senior leadership. He was named president and CEO in 2001 and in 2007 was appointed Chairman of AALA after serving as the organization's president for three years. Under his leadership, PHH Arval has repeatedly been recognized for advancements in technology, outstanding customer service, and corporate citizenship. His pioneering spirit is evident in the many innovations PHH has brought to the marketplace during his tenure as CEO, such as the industry's first environmental program, telematics solution, driver mobile program, and violations management program. Kilroy was also responsible for the partnership between PHH Arval and the Environmental Defense Fund in 2006 to improve the environmental performance of commercial fleets.

Bob Martines, Corporate Claims Management (CCM)

Dates in Fleet: 1977-present
Martines began his fleet career in 1977 with SALEX Fleet Specialists. He initially conceived, developed, and implemented the concept of accident management in the fleet industry in 1979. He conceived, helped create, and oversees the perpetual development of CCM's FleetGuard Safety Management Program and has made numerous presentations for NAFA, AFLA, and RIMS in areas of accident management, subrogation recovery practices, vehicle remarketing, and the pros and cons of insurance in fleet. He has served as a member of the New Jersey NAFA board since 1987, holding several chair positions. He previously served on NAFA's National Educational Committee as an instructor in the estimating/accident repair module and served on the editorial committee for Fleet Executive magazine. Martines received NAFA's "Outstanding Chapter Service Award" in May of 2003 and various awards and honors from regional organizations for dedication and service.

Ray Fisher, Chrysler Corp. and Donlen Corp.

Dates in fleet: 2000-present
Fisher enjoyed a 33-year career at Chrysler, culminating with his role as VP of sales, service, and parts operations. His accomplishments include the restructuring and expansion of Chrysler fleet, transitioning and introducing Sprinter as a Dodge, successfully introducing RWD sedans and two Dodge police vehicles, development of Chrysler's Certified Pre-Owned program, establishing a small commercial fleet dealer network, forming Chrysler's first Client Advisory Board, and bringing Chrysler's current fleet leaders into fleet operations. He is also credited with being one of the drivers behind separating the annual NAFA and AFLA meetings.

Jim McCarthy, Siemens Corp.

Dates in Fleet: 1984-present
McCarthy has been a Siemens employee for 27 years and responsible for Siemens' fleet management for the past 18 years. He is a founding member and organizer of Siemens Shared Services organization, developing a business model within a shared services environment whereby the division sold its services to other Siemens companies and joint ventures. Using this business model as a foundation, the division grew the Siemens fleet from 1,100 vehicles in 1993 to its current level of 15,500. Siemens was a "Top Plus" finalist (a Siemens "global" business competition) in 2005 for initiatives that netted one Siemens operating company $12.5 million in savings over three years (2002-2005). Additionally, McCarthy is a long-standing member of Siemens Global Procurement Board, which has been responsible for generating significant global overrides for Siemens companies worldwide. McCarthy has been a NAFA Fleet Management Association member for 15 years, an AFLA member for 10 years, and has served on its Board of Directors and is a current member of its Sounding Board. He has served on the Wheels Steering Council as well as Ford's Fleet Advisory Board and Chrysler Advisory Board. McCarthy was named AF's Professional Fleet Manager of the Year in 2005.

Gary Rappeport, Donlen Corp.

Dates in Fleet: 1986-present
Rappeport’s focus on employee and customer satisfaction, corporate social responsibility, and environmental consciousness has put Donlen in the forefront of workplace excellence. Named Executive of the Year at the 2009 American Business Awards, Rappeport was honored for his many industry achievements, including Donlen’s exponential growth during his tenure as CEO. Rappeport’s focus extends beyond Donlen to the industry as a whole. In 2010, he was accepted as a member of the Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) for spearheading the industry-wide CGI Commitment to Action titled “Commercial Fleet 20-Percent GHG Emissions Reduction.” In collaboration with the Environmental Defense Fund, Rappeport has committed significant Donlen resources over the next five years to help companies, vendors, and suppliers reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the fleet industry.

About the author
Lauren Fletcher

Lauren Fletcher

Executive Editor - Fleet, Trucking & Transportation

Lauren Fletcher is Executive Editor for the Fleet, Trucking & Transportation Group. She has covered the truck fleet industry since 2006. Her bright personality helps lead the team's content strategy and focuses on growth, education, and motivation.

View Bio