Florida's No-Fault Insurance Law Set to Expire Oct. 1
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. --- If Florida's no-fault insurance law isn't extended by legislators and consequently expires Oct. 1, Florida drivers will still need to carry property damage insurance coverage on their cars.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles confirmed this requirement, based upon a new staff legal analysis, according to the South Florida Sun-Sentinel newspaper.
The state's no-fault insurance law has required that each car be covered with $10,000 of personal injury protection insurance. Legislators are scheduled to meet in special session Sept. 18, but it's not known whether they will vote on whether to extend no-fault insurance.
If legislators do not extend no-fault beyond Oct. 1, these are the new rules, according to the Sun-Sentinel:
All vehicles must have at least $10,000 of property damage coverage.
To qualify a car for registration, the car owner must provide proof of property damage insurance annually.
Failure to carry insurance is a second-degree misdemeanor. It is punishable with a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail. However, the department can no longer suspend a driver's license or motor vehicle registration because of a lack of insurance.
In the event of an accident, a driver must provide proof of insurance. But a driver pulled over by a law enforcement officer for any other type of traffic violation is no longer required to show such proof of insurance.