Nevada Bans Cell Phone Use While Driving
CARSON CITY, NV – Nevada’s Governor Brian Sandoval signed a bill banning talking, or texting, on a cell phone while driving, which makes Nevada the 34th state to prohibit texting while driving and the ninth to prohibit all hand-held cell phone use while driving. According to the text of the bill, its provisions don’t prohibit the use of a voice-operated GPS or navigation system in the vehicle.
The new law states that violators will face a fine of up to $100 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $250 for the third offense. The State can suspend third-time offenders’ drivers’ licenses. The law will go into effect on Jan. 1, 2012.