Louisiana Strengthens Texting Ban
BATON ROUGE, LA - Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal on June 17 signed into law a bill that makes texting while driving in the state a primary offense, Business First reported.
The new law takes effect Aug. 15. It strengthens Louisiana's 2008 texting ban, which made texting while driving a secondary offense. Law enforcement officials could ticket drivers caught texting only if they were pulled over for another offense.
Drivers caught texting while driving will continue to face a fine of $175 for the first offense and up to $500 for subsequent offenses.