The Car and Truck Fleet and Leasing Management Magazine

Favorite Factory Fleet Directors Revealed

September 11, 2009

TORRANCE, CA - In a new Automotive Fleet survey of primarily commercial fleet managers with 12 or more years of experience, respondents were asked to select their all-time "favorite" factory fleet director out of 29 qualified candidates based on a 5-point system. Factory fleet directors active between 1994 and present were listed from GM, Ford, Chrysler, Toyota, Nissan, and Subaru.

The winning favorite factory fleet directors are:  

  1. Ray Fisher - Chrysler                                       
  2. Brian McVeigh - GM
  3. Hal Feder - Ford
  4. Dave Hansen - GM
  5. Pat Dougherty - Chrysler
  6. George Frink - GM                                                                  

Because of the relatively rapid turnover of the fleet director position, three managing directors in daily contact with their fleet director's accounts (referred to as "Number 2s") were also recognized.

Here are the surprising results:

  1. Jerry Frick - Ford                                              
  2. Bill Gibson - GM
  3. Joe Gholston - Chrysler
  4. John Ruppert - Ford

Automotive Fleet extends congratulations to the winners and our thanks to those who participated in the voting.

A PowerPoint presentation will be available with the online version of the article "Who's Your All-Time Favorite Factory Fleet Director?" featured in the upcoming October issue of AF. Stay tuned.

Twitter Facebook Google+


Please note that comments may be moderated. 
Leave this field empty:

  1. 1. ajc23 [ September 11, 2009 @ 03:31PM ]

    I'm surprised that two of the original's were not mentioned.....Dave Long & Howard Cook who started it all!!!


Fleet Incentives

Determine the actual cost of owning and running a vehicle in your fleet. Compare vehicles by class and model.


Fleet Tracking And Telematics

Todd Ewing from Verizon Connect will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fleet Management And Leasing

Jack Firriolo from Merchants will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fuel Management

Bernie Kanavagh from WEX will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Sponsored by

Thomas W. Beasley was a past president of the National Auto Auction Association

Read more

Up Next

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher