In Illinois and Arizona, commercial drivers who put the pedal to the metal can be fined as much as $2,500.  -  Photo: Canva

In Illinois and Arizona, commercial drivers who put the pedal to the metal can be fined as much as $2,500.

Photo: Canva

Illinois ranks first in the nation for the steepest potential fine for speeding by commercial truck drivers — up to $2,500, according to a new study from TrafficTickets.com, a division of Rosenblum Law.

Arizona, which can also pin a $2,500 maximum fine on a commercial driver, ranks second because speeding penalties can range anywhere from zero dollars up to $2,500. Whereas the lowest fine in Illinois would be $75. When the low end of fine ranges is factored in, Illinois secures the top spot, according to the study authors.  

Other states among the top 10 for highest potential speeding fines for commercial drivers include Colorado and Nevada. In both states, speeding can cost a trucker up to $1,000. Iowa, Connecticut, and Maryland all make the top 10 list as well, with potential maximum fines being $625, %560, and $530, respectively. Finally, California, Hawaii, and Utah all with maximum fines of $500 rank eighth, ninth, and 10th on the list, respectively.

Speeding was a contributing factor in 29% of all traffic fatalities in 2020, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. That same year, large trucks contributed to 10% of all fatal vehicles accidents, specifically 4,014 deaths, based on data from the Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS).

Speeding combined with large trucks is a deadly combination. It’s no wonder then that all 50 states have specific laws against speeding by commercial drivers, though some state laws are stricter than others.

The study also evaluated minimum fines for speeding. It found that 13 states have a minimum fine of over $100 for commercial drivers who exceed the speed limit. The top three are California with a $230 minimum penalty, Florida ($219), and Hawaii ($200).

Connecticut, Alabama, Texas, and Ohio rank fourth through seventh in this category — with minimum fines of $198, $190, $185, and $175, respectively. Speeding in both Indiana and Utah will cost a trucker at least $150. Completing the list of 13 are Oregon and Colorado (both $115) Tennessee ($109), and Washington ($108).

0 Comments