Video: N.H. Hands-Free Law Takes Effect July 1
VIDEO: New Hampshire Hands-Free Law Takes Effect July 1
A new traffic law in New Hampshire prohibiting motorists from holding a cell phone or other electronic device while driving takes effect on Wednesday, July 1.
Police plan to start enforcing the law immediately. A first offense carries a $100 fine. A second offense sees the fine rise to $250. A third offense within a two-year period carries a $500 penalty.
Bluetooth or other hands-free systems are permitted.
New Hampshire State Police last Thursday, June 25, held a press conference to remind the driving public about the new regulatory change. Among the speakers was Marilyn Bachman, whose husband was killed in 2013 by a distracted driver. To view video footage of the news conference, click on the photo or link above.