The Car and Truck Fleet and Leasing Management Magazine

Feds Salute Highway Safety Leaders

March 17, 2015

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration on March 16 presented its annual Public Service Awards, honoring the efforts of leaders in law enforcement, the judiciary and nonprofit safety advocacy.

The 12 winners were given their awards during a ceremony at the 33rd annual Lifesavers National Conference on Highway Safety Priorities in Chicago.

“The continued leadership of safety practitioners and organizations across the country is essential to tackling the most dangerous driving practices – whether the issue is drunk driving, seatbelt use, or distraction, ” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. “The winners exemplify the highest levels of dedication and hard work that are critical to saving lives across America’s roads.”

The Lifesavers National Conference on Highway Safety Priorities highlights traffic safety data as well as best practices that attendees can use in their individual jurisdictions. This year’s conference, hosted by the non-profit Lifesavers organization, ran from March 15-17.

Here are the 12 NHTSA Public Service Award winners:

Award winner Judge John S. Kennedy.
Award winner Judge John S. Kennedy.
  • Judge John S. Kennedy / Court of Common Pleas of York County, Pa: In recognition of his development of the York County Target 25 program and its commitment to reducing crashes, injuries and fatalities caused by repeat DUI offenders.
  • Sgt. Terry Thorne / Metropolitan Police Department, Special Operations Division: In recognition of his commitment to promoting highway safety and saving lives in the District of Columbia.
  • Florida Sheriffs Association: In recognition of the association’s leadership in reducing fatalities and serious injuries on Florida roadways.
  • Ken Stecker, Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor, Prosecuting Attorney’s Association of Michigan: In recognition of his service in protecting communities and enhancing traffic safety by providing expert legal advice and training resources to Michigan’s criminal justice community.
  • Judge Douglas J. Saloom / City Court of Lafayette, Division “B”: In recognition of his efforts to clarify and enhance Louisiana’s impaired driving statutes, thereby improving the effectiveness of the state’s criminal justice process.
  • Dave Corp / Kansas Law Enforcement Liaison, Bureau of Transportation Safety and Technology: For his leadership and dedication in advancing traffic safety programs that help reduce motor vehicle deaths and injuries in Kansas.
  • Capt. Anne Carpenter, Nevada Highway Patrol: For her leadership and innovation in the area of distracted driving, through development of the “It Can Wait for 28” program.
  • Hawaii State Judiciary / District Court of the First Circuit, Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Court Program: In recognition of their efforts to reduce traffic fatalities caused by alcohol-impaired driving. Their collaboration created Hawaii’s first DWI Court program for repeat offenders.
  • Robin Abel, Advocate (Renton, Wash.): In recognition of bringing awareness to unsecured loads and roadway debris risks to motor vehicles on a local, state and national level.
  • Walmart Product Safety and Compliance: In recognition of the department’s contributions to the safe transport of children through the promotion of car seat safety messaging to consumers.
  • Jan Withers / MADD President, July 2011-December 2014: In recognition of her efforts to promote tougher legislation, her service as a victim advocate and her tenure as MADD national president.

Award winner Jan Withers, former president of MADD.
Award winner Jan Withers, former president of MADD.

  • Penelope “Penny” Wells, Former President and CEO of Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD): In recognition of her efforts to promote youth health and safety, her contributions as SADD president and CEO, and her legacy of empowering young leaders.
Twitter Facebook Google+


Please note that comments may be moderated. 
Leave this field empty:

Fleet Incentives

Determine the actual cost of owning and running a vehicle in your fleet. Compare vehicles by class and model.


Fleet Tracking And Telematics

Todd Ewing from Fleetmatics will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fleet Management And Leasing

Jack Firriolo from Merchants will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fuel Management

Bernie Kanavagh from WEX will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Sponsored by

Business Fleet is a monthly publication directed to businesses that manage fleets with 10-50 vehicles in the commercial sector

Read more

Up Next

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher