ROGERS, AR - American Trucking Associations' Safety Management Council announced its 2010 award recipients on Sept. 29. Winners included ABF Freight System Inc. of Fort Smith, Ark. (large fleet category), Dupré Logistics LLC of Lafayette, La. (mid-size fleet category), and TCW/Tennessee Express of Nashville, Tenn. (small fleet category). 

The awards ceremony was held during the council's Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Arkansas. 

The ATA National Driver of the Year award went to Anthony Jones of Central Freight Lines, based in Houston. The National Safety Director of the Year award went to Dean Newell of Maverick Transportation, based in North Little Rock, Ark. 

Other winners included the Colorado Motor Carriers Association (Excellence in Safety award) and Patti Gillette of the Colorado Motor Carriers Association (Leadership Award). 

ATA's Safety Management Council is a national group of transportation professionals involved in safety and human resources management for motor carriers and other interested organizations. ATA is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry.