WASHINGTON, D.C. --- Forty-four vehicle inspectors representing nearly every jurisdiction across North America convened this year in a city known for its champions -- Pittsburgh -- August 17-23 to compete in the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance's (CVSA) North American Inspectors Championship (NAIC). 

This year, Alex Bugeya, a CVSA-certified North American Standard Level I inspector from Ontario was awarded the Jimmy K. Ammons Grand Champion Award for his combined performances in seven competition elements including North American Standard Level I Inspection and North American Standard HAZMAT/Transportation of Dangerous Goods Inspection. 

"I am so very proud of the men and women who put on a uniform and badge every day and dedicate their lives to commercial motor vehicle safety," said Stephen F. Campbell, CVSA's executive director. "They are the ones making highways safer for everyone who drives alongside commercial motor vehicles and this championship recognizes them for their contribution to highway safety." 

"We owe a great debt of gratitude to commercial vehicle safety inspectors. These dedicated men and women vigilantly enforce safety regulations that help protect the lives and well being of every traveler," said Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Acting Deputy Administrator Rose A. McMurray. "It is through the NAIC competition that we honor these law enforcement officers for their expertise, courage and commitment to highway safety." 

NAIC is managed by CVSA and funded in part by FMCSA. 

Award presenters included Rose A. McMurray, Stephen F. Campbell, and CVSA President Darren E. Christle. 

Of the 44 CVSA-certified North American Standard Level I roadside inspectors that competed in the 17th annual Championship, five inspectors represented Canada; three inspectors represented Mexico-SCT; and 36 represented the U.S. 

In addition to the Grand Champion award, the following were also presented:

High Points United States: Robert Keeney - Massachusetts

High Points Canada: Alex Bugeya - Ontario

High Points Mexico: Noe Mauricio Ley Jimenez - Mexico

North American Standard Level I Inspection: 1. Alex Bugeya - Ontario; 2. Rick Smith - Alberta; 3. Frederick Heggestad - Arizona.

North American Standard Level V Passenger Vehicle (Motorcoach) Inspection: 1. Darrin Rose - Oklahoma; 2. Katrina Robson - Florida; 3. Rick Smith - Alberta.

North American Standard Hazardous Materials/Transportation of Dangerous Goods and Cargo Tank/Bulk Packagings Inspection: 1. Alex Bugeya - Ontario; 2. Robert Keeney - Massachusetts; 3. Pierre Grimard - Quebec.

John Youngblood Award of Excellence: Charles Granger - Maine

Team Award: Red Team: Team Leader - Timothy Cotter; James Canard - Arkansas; Jeffrey Boller - Michigan; Alex Bugeya - Ontario; Ronald Longolucco - Rhode Island; Jean-Paul Abel - South Carolina; John McFarland - Tennessee; Scott Theobald - Utah; Kenneth Clark - Virginia.