PHOENIX – Sponsored by Automotive Fleet and the Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association (AFLA), the first-ever Fleet Hall of Fame awards will recognize fleet industry leaders and pioneers that have made significant contributions to the commercial fleet management profession. The Fleet Hall of Fame award will be presented Sept. 11 at the annual AFLA conference at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort in Phoenix. Visit to register for the event.

"AFLA is honored to be a part of memorializing the achievements of these giants of our industry," said Elsie Lucia, president of AFLA. Lucia is the director of fleet services for the Estée Lauder Companies Inc., based in New York City.

The Fleet Hall of Fame inductees will be displayed on a special wall at Bobit Business Media's headquarters in Torrance, Calif. "It will be available to view with credit to AFLA for the exclusive support during nominations, elections, and presentations, as well as recognition in print and on," said Ed Bobit, CEO of Bobit Business Media, publisher of Automotive Fleet magazine.

25 Nominees for the 2008 Fleet Hall of Fame Award

1.        John Blessing – McCullagh Leasing

2.        Dick Heather – PHH

3.        Don Rappeport – Donlen Corp.

4.        Gary Tepas – Emkay Inc.

5.        Ron Pink– Xerox

6.        Ray Breault – Fleet Response/Hoffmann-La Roche/Revlon

7.        E.J. Ames – Universal CIT Credit Corp.

8.        Walter Langseder – Lipton Tea

9.        George Wilson – Lever Brothers

10.     Al Cavalli – Universal CIT Credit Corp., CIT Service Leasing, American Home Products, Avis Leasing

11.     John Rollins – Rollins

12.     Arno Neuber – ARI

13.     Jack Kolb – ARI

14.     Harry Brey – LeasePlan International

15.     Gene Arbaugh – PHH

16.     Henk Bosman – U.S. Fleet Leasing

17.     Stan Chason – GELCO

18.     Sam Penn – PHH

19.     Herman Meckler – LeasePlan Intl.

20.     Joe Thayer – Chevrolet

21.     W.M. Ramsey – American Motor Corp.

22.     W.M. Bird – Chrysler

23.     E.J. "Chappy" Chapman – Pontiac Division

24.     John Rock – GM

25.     A.E. "Fitz" Fitzpatrick – Studebaker


Twenty fleet industry leaders have already been inducted into the Hall of Fame. They are: 

1.        Helen Bland– Hallmark

2.        Howard Cook – Ford Motor Co.

3.        Eddie Dame – Avis Leasing

4.        Don Fenton – Piemonte Fleet

5.        Jim Frank – Wheels Inc.

6.        Zollie Frank – Wheels Inc.

7.        George Frink – GM/Chevrolet

8.        Bud Grossman – Gelco

9.        Joe Holman – ARI/Holman

10.     Harley Howell – PHH

11.     Jack Lamb – Exxon

12.     Sam Lee – Lee Fleet Management

13.     Milo Matick – Piemonte Fleet

14.     Emerson Parker – Hartford Fire Insurance

15.     S. Lester Landau – Picker X-Ray

16.     Hubert Ryan – Hertz Leasing

17.     Armund Schoen – Wheels Inc.

18.     Bob Soell – Suntrup Ford City

19.     Ed Stanley – Oldsmobile Div.

20.     George Weimer – Contel/Hertz