TRENTON, N.J. --- The New Jersey Assembly and Senate on June 21 voted to outlaw text-messaging while driving. The bill also would give police more authority to target drivers who are talking on cell phones while driving.
Currently in New Jersey, it's illegal to talk on a handheld phone while driving, but police can ticket a driver for that offense only if the driver is stopped for another offense. The new bill, however, would allow police to ticket any driver using a handheld phone while driving, Associated Press reported.
Nationwide Insurance recently conducted a survey that found that about 73 percent of drivers use cell phones while driving and 20 percent text-message while driving.
Washington recently became the first state to pass a law banning texting while driving.
Originally posted on Fleet Financials