On March 9, Ohio became the 25th state to permit license suspensions for those convicted of gasoline drive-offs, according to the Toledo Blade
newspaper. Michigan has had a similar law in effect since 2000. Under the Ohio law, anyone tempted to pump and run to avoid paying can receive a driver's license suspension of up to six months for first offenders. Repeat offenders could lose their licenses for at least six months.
Gasoline theft has been a $7 million annual problem in Ohio. Not only are teenagers seeking a thrill involved, but adults taking a tank full can cost retailers as much as $50 with a sports/utility vehicle, truck, or other vehicle with large gas tanks. But the possibility of a license suspension appears to have helped reduce drive-offs in Michigan where the law is in effect.
Originally posted on Fleet Financials