Four finalists from a field of 19 nominees have been chosen in the 2004 Fleet Manager of the Year Award selection sponsored by Automotive Fleet, Wheels Inc., and the Automotive Fleet and Leasing Association. The finalists are: Brenda Davis, fleet manager for Baker Hughes, Inc.; Scott Mayo, director of fleet at Wendy’s International, Inc; Jim McCarthy, director, vehicle management services, for Siemens; and Henry Paetzel, manager of auto fleet services for General Mills, Inc.

A winner will be announced at Automotive Fleet’s annual awards brunch, scheduled April 18 in Atlanta, Ga., coinciding with the National Association of Fleet Administrators’ Fleet Management Institute. The award’s judging panel includes distinguished representatives from all sectors of the fleet industry, including previous fleet manager of the year award winners, auto manufacturers, auctions, lessors, dealers, and the media.

The Fleet Manager of the Year Award program was created in 1985 to recognize “an experienced and proficient fleet manager who has demonstrated special business acumen in developing and executing key management policies while conducting the company fleet department in an outstanding manner, exemplifying leadership skills” as a career fleet manager, according to Bobit Business Media, Automotive Fleet’s publisher. Award nominees must be full-time, experienced fleet managers who control a company-owned or leased fleet in excess of 100 cars and light trucks combined and are “recognized nationally among their peers for their unique abilities and accomplishments.”

Other nominees for the 2004 Fleet Manager of the Year Award were:

Karen Cook, fleet manager, Schindler Elevator Corp.
Christy Coyte, global fleet manager, Johnson Controls.
Scott Darling, manager, fleet management services, BP America, Inc.
Thomas DesBois, fleet administrator, SimplexGrinnell/ADT Security.
Warren Dudek, fleet and travel manager, Ventiv Heath, U.S. Sales.
Sheryl Grossman, fleet manager, GE Medical Systems.
Doug Keene, fleet services manager, Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Shelly Lofgren, fleet manager, North America Honeywell International.
Lee Miller, manager, fleet services, Boehringer Ingelheim.
Jean Morris, fleet manager, Bayer Corporation.
Margaret Persad, fleet manager, Tupperware U.S. & Tupperware Canada, Tupperware U.S. Inc.
Brett Quigley, corporate director of transportation, U.S. Filter/Culligan.
Shirley Roberts, manager of fleet operations, 3M Company.
Kathy Schulz, fleet manager, Progressive Insurance.
Connie Smith, manager, global fleet governance, Procter and Gamble.

Originally posted on Fleet Financials