Ford Motor Co. took five of 14 automotive owner loyalty awards presented by R.L. Polk and Co. during the first day of media days at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. The awards are based on actual customer purchases registered in state offices. Polk tracks which people return to buy or lease the same make or model vehicle. The overall Make Loyalty Award went to Ford Division and was accepted by Ford Division President Jim O'Connor at the awards ceremony. O'Connor then made four additional trips to the podium, as Ford Motor Co. brands won loyalty awards in various segments. The Ford Focus was named as having the most loyal customers in the small-car segment. The Ford F-Series pickup topped the customer loyalty list in the full-size pickup category, and the Ford Ranger was first in the compact pickup segment. The Mercury Mountaineer also was acclaimed in 2001 for the most owner loyalty in the midsize sport utility vehicle segment. Other winners included General Motors, which picked up a trophy for overall manufacturer loyalty. GM's Buick LeSabre model won the large-car segment, Cadillac Deville took home the luxury car loyalty trophy and the Chevrolet Suburban is the full-size SUV to which customers are most loyal. Subaru vehicles won two loyalty awards: the Legacy for midsize cars and the Forester in the compact SUV category. Other vehicles awarded loyalty trophies by the Polk company were: the Lexus SC 430 in the prestige luxury segment; the Porsche 911 in the sports car category; and the Chrysler Town and Country in the minivan segment.

Originally posted on Fleet Financials