ALEXANDRIA, VA — The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) announced the division winners of the 2004 National Fleet Safety Awards, according to the Web site, The Truckload Carriers Association and the truckload industry are dedicated to improving the safety of all fleets and our nation's highways. The National Fleet Safety Awards recognize those companies who show a commitment to safety and accident reduction. The National Fleet Safety Division Awards are determined by accident frequency per million miles driven in each of six mileage divisions (listed below). The top three division winners were selected and have been audited by an independent expert to verify their accident frequency numbers. Ratios per million miles for all division winners ranged from zero to .4100. From the division winners two grand prize winners will be selected, one in the under 25 million mile category and one in the over 25 million mile category. To win the grand prize, companies will be judged on their overall safety programs, both on and off-highway including employee driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities including general highway safety. The two grand prize winning companies will be announced on March 8, 2005 at the TCA annual convention at the Bellagio Resort, Las Vegas. The top divisional winners based on low accident frequency per million miles are: Division I Winners (under 5 million miles): 1st Place, Rochester Cartage, Inc., Rochester, Minn.
2nd Place, Gra-Bell Truck Line, Holland, Mich.
3rd Place, Haas Carriage, Sellersburg, Ind.
Division II Winners (5 - 14.99 million miles): 1st Place, Glass IT LLC, Newkirk, Okla.
2nd Place, Best Cartage, Inc., Hernersville, N.C.
3rd Place, Dupre Transport, LLC, Lafayette, La.
Division III Winners (15 - 24.99 Million Miles): 1st Place, Christenson Transportation, Inc., Springfield, Mo.
2nd Place, Grand Island Express, Grand Island, Neb.
3rd Place, Pottle's Transportation, Inc., Bangor, Maine.
Division IV Winners (25 - 49.99 Million Miles): 1st Place, Raven Transport, Jacksonville, Fla.
2nd Place, Erb International Inc., New Hamburg, Ontario.
3rd Place, Kriska Transportation, Prescott, Ontario.
Division V Winners (50 - 99.99 Million Miles): 1st Place, John Christner Trucking, Inc., Sapulpa, Okla.
2nd Place, Robert Transport, Inc., Rougemount, Quebec.
3rd Place, Hogan Transport, Inc., St. Louis, Mo.
Division VI Winners (Over 100 Million Miles): 1st Place, Celadon Trucking Services, Indianapolis, Ind.
2nd Place, Marten Transport, Ltd., Mondovi, Wis.
3rd Place, Smithway Motor Xpress, Inc., Fort Dodge, Iowa.