The American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) and Cintas Corp., a leader in first-aid and safety programs, have begun accepting nominations for their 2015 Award for Innovation in Occupational Safety Management.

The winner will receive $3,000, a recognition plaque, and travel and accommodations for Safety 2015, ASSE’s annual conference set for Dallas in June.

“When workers are engaged in developing a safe workplace culture, everyone wins,” said ASSE President Trish Ennis. “Last year’s award competition drew creative nominations from organizations spanning the globe, so we’re excited to see what safety ideas will be submitted this time around.”

Submissions for the award should highlight a workplace challenge and an employee’s unique solution to the issue. The solution must have been either developed or implemented within the past five years. Benefits associated with the innovation may include elimination or reduction of hazards, improved safety knowledge or efficiency improvements.

A panel of industry experts will consider the innovation’s safety and management benefits, as well as the potential for applying the innovation across multiple programs or sites.

Both ASSE members and non-members are eligible for the award. Safety managers and employees alike can submit nominations. Employees are free to nominate themselves or other individuals.

Ali Hasan Al-Failakawi, an occupational safety and health team leader for the Kuwait Oil Co., won the 2014 award. Al-Failakawi developed a road safety program that encouraged safer driving and substantially reduced motor vehicle accidents involving workers. The oil and gas utility company employs more than 30,000 employees who travel more than 5 million miles monthly.

“Every organization needs to keep safety at the forefront to ensure that employees make it home after each shift,” said Rick Gerlach, director of safety and health for Cintas Corp. “Fostering an environment of innovation can help safety programs better identify and address risks in the workplace.”

Nominations must be received by March 31. To submit a nomination online, click here.