The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO), a state department, passed the Illinois Rebate & Federal Tax Credit for non-public-sector organizations and workplaces to save up to 80 percent on new electric vehicle (EV) charging stations purchased and installed after September 4, 2012 through the end of 2013.

All businesses that have locations in the state, regardless of where they are headquartered, are eligible for the Illinois Rebate & Federal Tax Credit. New station owners are also eligible for additional savings from the 30 percent Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Tax Credit. This credit is not available to cities, schools, or other non-taxpayers.

To learn more about the incentive, review the Cornell University Law Shcool website or download the 2011 IRS Form.