ANNAPOLIS, MD – Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley recently appointed members of the state’s EV Infrastructure Council – a board mandated by new state legislation.

“The Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council includes an extraordinarily talented and experienced group of advocates who will help Maryland take the next steps in supporting the roll-out of electric vehicles and infrastructure,” O’Malley said. 

The EV Infrastructure Council is charged with developing statewide standards for streamlined permitting and installation of EV charging stations and supply equipment, developing targeted policies to support EV fleet purchases, developing charging solutions for existing and future multi-dwelling units, and increasing consumer awareness and demand for electric vehicles. 

The council will submit an interim report on its work and recommendations by Jan. 1, 2012 and a final report by Dec. 1, 2012.

O’Malley appointed the following council members:
Z. Andrew Farkas,  professor and director for the National Transportation Center at Morgan State University
Jill Sorensen, executive director of the Baltimore-Washington Electric Vehicle Initiative (BEVI)
John J. Murach, Jr., director of business planning and corporate performance at Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.
William Gausman, senior vice president for Strategic Initiatives at Pepco Holdings Inc.
Jim Kiley, regional director of state government relations for General Motors Corp.
Colleen Quinn, vice president for government relations and public policy at Coulomb Technologies Inc.
Chris Lepp, electric vehicle infrastructure sales leader for GE Industrial Solutions
Malvin Nolen Duncan Jr., sales project manager for Holt Electrical Contractors Inc.
Frederick Hilton Hoover Jr., private attorney and former director of the Maryland Energy Administration
Steven Arabia, government relations manager for NRG Energy Inc.
Marisa Shockley, president of the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association
Gary Skulnik, co-founder of Clean Currents LLC
Robert N. Rollins Jr., fleet maintenance and management division chief for Calvert County 
Theodore Atwood, director of general services for Baltimore City representing Maryland Association of Counties
Daryl Braithwaite, director of public works for the city of Takoma Park 
Kelly M. Russell, alderman for the city of Frederick representing the Maryland Municipal League.

Maryland Deputy Secretary of Transportation Darrell B. Mobley will serve as chair of the council.