The Mississippi Senate on Feb. 5 passed a bill that classifies texting while driving as a careless driving offense. Conviction would result in a penalty ranging from $5 to $50.
The ban would only affect texting with handheld phones. Voice-to-text systems would remain legal.
Now the debate moves to the House.
In Mississippi, only school bus drivers and drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate licenses are currently prohibited from text messaging while driving.
Click on the photo or link above to view a WHBQ Fox 13 Memphis report on the anti-texting bill.