For the ninth consecutive year, fleet drivers and coaches with a focus on safety were the...

For the ninth consecutive year, fleet drivers and coaches with a focus on safety were the recipients of Lytx’s 2023 Driver of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

Photo: Lytx

Video safety solutions provider Lytx, Inc. recently announced the recipients of its 2023 Driver of the Year and Coach of the Year awards. Now in its ninth year, winners are chosen based on a commitment to using Lytx’s safety technology to advance their driving and customer service skills while improving their companies’ leadership by serving as peer mentors and instructors. 

This year, Lytx selected the winners and runners-up of the Driver of the Year and Coach of the Year from five different categories: Services/Utilities, Transit/Motor Coach, For-Hire Trucking, Private Trucking, and Waste/Construction. These awards recognize the dedication of these drivers and coaches to achieve their companies’ safety and operational goals, while staying accident-free using the Lytx Driver Safety Program.

“We received over 400 driver and coach nominations, which is a new record. As a comparison, last year we received about 250,” said Jason Andersen, marketing communications manager at Lytx. All customers are given the opportunity to nominate their drivers and coaches, and Lytx selects the winners based on a careful review of the nominations.

The annual program honors drivers and coaches who prioritize conducting their jobs in a safe and responsible manner, excel in the Lytx program, and whose contributions have enhanced the overall image of the transportation industry. The recognition is a way to celebrate the best and safest transportation professionals, according to the company.

As for winner selection criteria, Lytx requires that drivers and coaches be full-time employees at the time of nomination, the time of winner selection, and the time of the announcement (February 2023). Also, drivers and coaches must have actively participated in the Lytx program continuously from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022.

A Lytx panel then reviews the applications to consider the merits of each candidate based on the submitted information as well as their performance within the Lytx program. A first place Lytx Driver of the Year, as well as second and third place winners for each industry group, are then selected from the eligible submissions.

Here are just a few highlights about the 2023 first-place Driver of the Year winners in their respective categories.


First Place: Mario Lopez, Jr. (Fairfax County DPWES Stormwater)

Mario, a Smith System certified driver, takes pride in never having had a risky driving coachable event, moving violation, or preventable collision in his eight-year career. As a public service worker and emergency responder to storm events, Mario commonly finds himself in hazardous situations and always prioritizes safety. He spends time mentoring younger drivers in Fairfax County, Va. to help them navigate busy suburban roads as a “Behind-the-Wheel” instructor.

Trucking – Private Fleet

First Place: Keith Whyley (A&K Enns Trucking Ltd.)

Keith has been driving 36 years with no accidents or tickets, winning the 10-Year Safety Award from Federated Cooperatives Limited (FCL) in 2017. For the past 15 years, Keith has been training new drivers for A&K Enns Trucking Ltd.


First Place: Timothy Holmes (Manatt’s Inc.)

Tim has been with Manatt’s Inc. for two years and driving for 15 years total. Out of 178 concrete delivery professionals, Tim placed in the Top 10 four out of the eight working months in their Lytx rewards program. In addition, Tim had no risky driving events in 10 months and was involved in two instances of exemplary defensive driving that helped prevent a serious accident. Tim is also a volunteer fireman in two towns.

Trucking – For Hire

First Place: Sam Landrum (Maverick Transportation, LLC)

Sam has been driving for 35 years, 29 with Maverick. Each time a driver travels a million miles for a company without a single preventable accident, they earn a Million Mile Safe Driving Award. Sam has earned the Three Million Mile designation. To Sam, being courteous is the most important task in maintaining both customer service and company goals. Over the years, Sam says that beneficial technology, such as cameras and adaptive cruise control, have been helpful to all drivers in preventing accidents.

Transit/Motor Coach

First Place: Michael Warner (First Transit Houston RAC)

Michael has been with First Transit Houston for seven years and driving for 10. An active participant in all monthly safety meetings, he also received the monthly Safe Driver Award for having no DriveCam events six months in a row. Passengers regularly send his company messages praising his patient, safe driving and stellar customer service. He is an experienced professional driver dedicated to the transit industry.

First place 2023 Coaches of the Year include:

  • Services/Utilities: Randy Stevens (American Medical Response, Southern Virginia)
  • Waste/Construction: Tony Porter (Waste Management)
  • Trucking – For Hire: Robert Sams (Hub Group)
  • Transit/Motor Coach: Doris Sneed (First Transit)
About the author
News/Media Release

News/Media Release


Our editorial staff has selected and edited this news release for clarity and brand style because we believe it is relevant to our audience.

View Bio