The Car and Truck Fleet and Leasing Management Magazine

Seatbelt Law to Become Primary in Washington State

June 18, 2002

On June 20, Washington will join 17 other states and the District of Columbia in making a violation of seatbelt laws a primary offense. With this measure in place, law enforcement officials can pull a vehicle over if the driver or any passenger is not wearing a safety belt, the Washington Traffic Safety Commission said. In the past, seatbelt violations could only be enforced if a driver had been stopped for some other violation. Until now, the lack of seatbelt use, alone, did not justify a law enforcement stop. Under the new legislation, the driver will be cited for all vehicle occupants under the age of 16, and any unbuckled passengers over 16 will receive their own $86 tickets, the Commission said. Since the initiation of the "Click It or Ticket" campaign in early May to increase driver safety, the state has already seen increased seatbelt use from 82 to 88.5 percent, and the committee expects that number to jump once penalties are more widely enforced.
Twitter Facebook Google+


Please note that comments may be moderated. 
Leave this field empty:

Fleet Incentives

Determine the actual cost of owning and running a vehicle in your fleet. Compare vehicles by class and model.

Sponsored by

A charter member of the Automotive Fleet and Leasing Association (AFLA), Soell still attends meetings whenever his courtesy-delivery schedule allows.

Read more

Up Next

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher