The Car and Truck Fleet and Leasing Management Magazine

Jeep Liberty Wins Northwest Auto Writers SUV of the Year Award

November 9, 2001

The all-new 2002 Jeep Liberty won the Northwest Automotive Press Association (NWAPA) SUV of the year award. Association members announced that Jeep Liberty earned “Economy SUV of the Year,” besting the Ford Escape, Honda CR-V, Nissan Xterra and Subaru Outback Sport at the eighth annual NWAPA competition in Olympia, WA.Competition judges liked the Jeep Liberty’s design, acceleration off the line, off-road assurance, and swing gate system.The two-day competition, popularly known as “Mudfest,” featured nearly 20 NWAPA automo-tive journalists putting 26 competitors through rigorous tests at Bremerton Speedway and Thurston County Off-Road Vehicle Park. Journalists tested and judged the vehicles, scoring them in categories for overall design, comfort and convenience, production quality, cornering ability, ride and handling, braking, on- and off-road performance, value for the dollar, and personal appeal.First introduced as a 2002 model, the Liberty features a new 210 horsepower 3.7-liter V-6 SOHC 12-valve engine developed for power, refinement, efficiency, and durability. A Jeep-engineered, coil spring independent front suspension combines with a link-coil rear suspension provide on-road refinement and off-road capability and durability. The Liberty also features a patented single-action swing gate/flipper glass system for easy access to the cargo area.
Twitter Facebook Google+


Please note that comments may be moderated. 
Leave this field empty:

Fleet Incentives

Determine the actual cost of owning and running a vehicle in your fleet. Compare vehicles by class and model.


Fleet Tracking And Telematics

Todd Ewing from Verizon Connect will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fleet Management And Leasing

Jack Firriolo from Merchants will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fuel Management

Bernie Kanavagh from WEX will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Sponsored by

The Global Auto Program manager for Microsoft. He was named International Fleet Manager of the Year in 2010.

Read more

Up Next

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher