Video: Vermont's Handheld Phone Ban Starts This Week
VIDEO: Vermont's Hands-Free Driving Law Takes Effect Oct. 1
A new law banning motorist use of handheld cell phones and other electronic devices takes effect in Vermont Oct. 1.
A DMV public relations campaign, “Phones Down, Heads Up,” is helping to spread the word about the new restrictions. Gov. Peter Shumlin signed the bill into law in June, but some drivers are still unaware of the impending change.
The law will be enforced as a primary offense, meaning law enforcement officers will not need to observe another offense to pull over the driver. First-time offenders face a fine between $100 to $200.
For a video report from ABC22 News, click on the photo or link above.