N.H. House Passes Handheld Cell Phone Ban for Drivers
The New Hampshire House last week passed a handheld cell phone ban for drivers. Now the Senate will consider the ban.
The New Hampshire House of Representatives on March 5 passed a bill to ban use of a handheld cell phone while driving.
Drivers over 18 years old would still be permitted to carry on phone conversations using hands-free technology such as Bluetooth. In addition, on-duty emergency personnel would be exempt from the ban.
A first offense would carry a $100 fine. A second offense would cost $250. A third offense within a two-year period would cost $500.
The state already has a law on the books that prohibits drivers from typing and sending text messages.
The House approved the handheld phone ban by a vote of 192-133. Now the New Hampshire Senate will consider the legislation.