Connecticut Toughens Distracted Driving Laws
Connecticut Gov. Dannel P. Malloy has signed into law two bills that will place higher penalties and tougher restrictions on the use of cell phones and other handheld electronic devices while driving. The new laws take effect Oct. 1.
Beginning October, the fine levied for cell phone use while driving rises from $125 to $150 for the first offense. The penalty for a second offense jumps from $250 to $300. The fine for a third offense rises from $400 to $500.
In addition, one of the new laws makes it illegal to use a handheld device even if the vehicle is stopped in traffic or stopped at a signal light.
To learn more about the new laws, click here to read an article in the Hartford Courant or to watch a video from Fox News Connecticut.