New Colorado Law Bans Texting While Driving
DENVER --- Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter this week signed into law a bill that bans sending text messages, including e-mails and tweets, while driving.
The new law, which takes effect Dec. 1, will also prohibit drivers under the age of 18 from using a cellphone at all while driving.
The law, however, does not require adult drivers to use hands-free devices when talking on cellphones while driving.
Violations of the new law will be punishable by a fine of $50 for a first offense and $100 for a second offense, the Denver Post reported.
"Driving requires our full attention," Ritter said in a released statement. "Drivers should not be texting while behind the wheel. And drivers younger than 18 ought to be focusing on the road, not their cellphones."