The Car and Truck Fleet and Leasing Management Magazine

Texas to Crack Down on Uninsured Drivers

June 04, 2008

AUSTIN, Texas --- The Texas Department of Public Safety and other state officials have launched a program to identify and fine uninsured motorists, the Associated Press reported.

State law mandates that all drivers carry minimum liability coverage. But according to state estimates, about 4 million, or 20 percent, of Texas vehicles are not covered.

Driving without liability insurance can result in fines of up to $350. Repeat offenders can have their license suspended.

The Texas Sure program created a database of private passenger vehicles that are insured. Law enforcement and county tax officials will be able to electronically confirm whether a vehicle has the required coverage. Coverage information is updated every week by more than 200 Texas insurance companies.

State officials hope the program will help crack down on motorists who use fake insurance cards or who cancel their insurance coverage after they renew their registration or pass inspection.

 

Twitter Facebook Google+

Comments

Please note that comments may be moderated. 
Leave this field empty:
 
 

Fleet Incentives

Determine the actual cost of owning and running a vehicle in your fleet. Compare vehicles by class and model.

Sponsored by

Manheim was established in 1945 as a wholesale vehicle auction operation.

Read more

Accident Costs Calculator

DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH REVENUE IT TAKES TO OFFSET FLEET ACCIDENT COSTS?
Use this calculator to see how much extra sales revenue your company needs to generate to make up for the profits lost as a result of fleet accidents.
Launch Accident Cost Calculator 

Up Next

More From The World's Largest Fleet Publisher